9th century

29. January 0999

First mint under Louis the Pious in Regensburg


29. January 1158

Foundation of the city of Munich (near the Munichen settlement) with the right to mint coins granted by Henry the Lion on the grounds of Schrannenplatz (today’s Marienplatz)


29. January 1180

Palatine Count Otto of Wittelsbach receives the Duchy of Bavaria as fiefdom and thus the right to mint coins


29. January 1295

Destruction of the Munich mint by citizens because of the decline in value of the coins caused by the ever decreasing silver content, and subsequent reconstruction on Münzstraße.


29. January 1307

Dukes Rudolph I and Ludwig grant minting rights to the region, a representation of the estates


29. January 1506

Coin reform under Albrecht V. (15 July), higher coin values, minting of the first gold guilder


29. January 1620

Foundation of the Mint Directorate by Elector Maximilian to control the minting industry

1705 – 1714

29. January 1714

Austrian occupation period, Austrian coins are minted at the mint.


29. January 1809

The mint moves into the “Alte Marstallgebäude” building at “Hofgraben” and “Pfisterbach”, which was built by Duke Albrecht V. from 1563 to 1567 and rebuilt by Andreas Gärtner in 1809. As the state mint, the newly created moneta regia received the name “Haupt Münzamt” (“State Mint”), which it retained after the dissolution of other mints in Bavaria.

19th century

29. January 1850

Expansion and modernization of the mint


29. January 1863

Extension on Maximilian Straße


29. January 1871

Foundation of the German Empire and transfer of prerogative of coinage to the Empire Bavarian State Mint share of minting 12–14% of the population. Issue of the mint marks still valid today based on the quantity minted. Munich receives the “D” minting mark.

1939 – 1945

29. January 1939

Partial destruction of the mint buildings (reconstruction 1950 – 1962)


29. January 1945

Takeover of prerogative of coinage by the Allied Control Council


29. January 1947

Due to the shortage of small change, 5 pfennig (penny) pieces were minted with small zinc plates left over from the inflation period as the first German post-war minting.


29. January 1948

Production of “Urstempel” stamps for the currency reform


29. January 1949

Minting of coins bearing the inscription “BANK DEUTSCHER LÄNDER” (BANK OF GERMANY) in denominations of 1, 5, 10 and 50 pfennig.


29. January 1950

Coinage Act (Scheidemünzengesetz), Bavarian State Mint minting share 26% of the Federal Republic of Germany’s circulation coins


29. January 1951

Transfer of the counterfeit money body from the Reichsbank Directorate to the Bavarian State Mint up until 1962


29. January 1972

Production of medals for the Olympic Games in Munich


29. January 1986

Relocation to the new building on Zamdorfer Straße


29. January 1990

Reunification and surrender of 5% of the minting quantities to the Staatliche Münze Berlin coin mint


29. January 1997

7 August: start of Euro production by the then Federal Minister of Finance, Theo Waigel. All German mint marks were uniquely minted by one mint.


29. January 1999

Start of mass production for the common European currency.


29. January 2002

1 January: the Euro becomes the sole currency. In Munich alone, 3.57 billion coins were minted for the introduction of the Euro.


29. January 2006

1 January: the State Mint becomes a business enterprise of the Free State of Bavaria


29. January 2008


850 anniversary with an open day


29. January 2016


First 5 euro commemorative coin issued with polymer technology (TMC)